MSP Logo

MSP Publications

Type: Occasional Paper
Madeleine Bélanger Dumontier, David A. McDonald, Susan Spronk, Catherine Baron and Dieter Wartchow
Publication Date:
This paper demonstrates that much of the benchmarking that takes place in the water sector today focuses on financial and technical performance, making it difficult for water operators to pursue broader social, political and environmental objectives. As an alternative this paper introduces the concept of ‘social efficiency’ to widen the scope of performance evaluation by adding new evaluation criteria that emphasize equity and promote ‘publicness’, informed by extensive field research in Africa and Latin America.
David A. McDonald , 2016
edited by David A. McDonald, 2016
Madeleine Bélanger Dumontier, David McDonald, Susan Spronk, Catherine Baron & Dieter Wartchow, 2015
edited by Satoko Kishimoto, Emanuele Lobina and Olivier Petitjean, 2015
Alexander Dwinell and Marcela Olivera, 2014
Madeleine Bélanger Dumontier, Susan Spronk and Adrian Murray , 2014
Abhay Shukla, Shelley Saha Sinha and SATHI, 2014
Chan Chee-Khoon, 2014
Yoswa M. Dambisya, Mulalo Manenzhe and Allie B. Kibwika-Muyinda, 2014
Jane Doherty, 2014
Dale T. McKinley, 2014
Luis Ortiz Hernández and Diana Pérez Salgado, 2014
edited by David McDonald, 2014
Rebecca McMillan, Susan Spronk and Calais Caswell , 2014
Thomas Marois, 2013
Thomas Marois and Ali Rıza Güngen, 2013
Amit Sengupta, 2013
Amit Sengupta*, 2013
Farhana Sultana, Chandra Talpade Mohanty and Sarah Miraglia, 2013
Ellen Leopold and David McDonald, 2012
Susan Spronk, 2012
edited by Greg Ruiters and Robert van Niekerk, 2012
Jackie Dugard and Katherine Drage, 2012
Ronnie D. Lipschutz & Sarah T. Romano, 2012
Ronnie D. Lipschutz and Sarah T. Romano, 2012
edited by David A. McDonald and Greg Ruiters, 2012
edited by Martin Pigeon, David A. McDonald, Olivier Hoedeman and Satoko Kishimoto, 2012
edited by Greg Ruiters, 2011
Chandra Talpade Mohanty and Sarah Miraglia, 2010
Susan Spronk, 2010
Gemma Boag and David A. McDonald , 2010
Karen Cocq and David A. McDonald, 2010
David A. McDonald, 2008
David A. McDonald, 2008
Carina van Rooyen and David Hall, 2007
Kevin Kelly and Pumla Ntlabati, 2007
Farhaad Haffejee, Mickey Chopra and David Sanders, 2007
Leslie Swartz, Alison Breen, Alan Flisher, John Joska, Joanne Corrigall, Lindelwa Plaatjies and David A McDonald, 2006
Scott Sinclair, 2006
David Hemson with Bongi Dube, Thami Mbele, Remigius Nnadozie and Dumisani Ngcobo, 2006
Greg Ruiters, 2006
David Hall, Jane Lethbridge and Emanuele Lobina, 2005
Industrial Health Research Group and the South African Municipal Workers Union, 2005
David McDonald and Greg Ruiters, 2004
Melanie Samson, 2003
David A McDonald and Laïla Smith, 2002
Patrick Bond, 2002
edited by David A. McDonald and John Pape, 2002
edited by David A. McDonald, 2002
Hameda Deedat, John Pape and Msokoli Qotole, 2001
Maj Fiil-Flynn with the Soweto Electricity Crisis Committee, 2001
Msokoli Qotole, Mthetho Xali and Franco Barchiesi, 2001
Alex Loftus and David A. McDonald, 2001
John Pape, 2001